Type D

D!

Denouement
Archive



Previous / Next

Nonsense
[2012-10-25 22:00]

"Gangnam Style" by Korean singer Psy became the top-viewed video on YouTube the other day, and that makes me happy. I find it encouraging that so many people across the world can take pleasure in a little silliness. Granted, the number of views is not the same as the number of people who've seen it (since many people, including myself, have watched it more than once), but it still has to be a good number of folk.

I only became interested in Psy a few weeks ago, wondering what the hoopla was after seeing that the singer had made appearances on various morning TV shows here in the US. Despite the language barrier, I dig the music and the goofiness of the video and am not ashamed to admit I bought it on iTunes (even if Psy only sees 2-cents of that dollar, I'm happy to give it to him).

But this isn't the first song I've enjoyed without understanding the lyrics. Here are a few others that I've found over the years. They could be about torturing small animals, for all I know.

"Hit It" performed by Isabelle Huang for Sims 2

The gibberish spoken in the Sims 2 game (known as Simlish) amuses me, and songs sung in Simlish crack me up. There isn't an English version, as far as I know. It sounds like this song was based on the incidental music that plays while the game is loading in Sims 2. The videos people make using the game -- such as this one -- are pretty cool too (although the sound is a bit grainy in this video).


"Angels" by Hope for Sims 2

There's an English version that's pretty good too.


"J'en Ai Marre" by Alizee

I first heard about this, I think, from the game World of Warcraft, in which female night elves dance like Alizee does in this live version with subtitles. I bet the next race in World of Warcraft will dance like Psy.


"Kitara taivas ja t�hdet" by Eppu Normaali

Dig the '80s style! I don't remember how or when I came across this, but it's catchy and a bit like a Nordic Dire Straits. I may have downloaded this from Usenet using America OnLine dial-up service (speaking of nonsense!).

!D

Boom
Defective Yeti
Dooce
I, Cringely
It's Not Happening
Locally Grown Girl
Margaret and Helen
Mimi Smartypants
putative.com
That Black Girl

Diaryland
Slashdot