Type D

D!

Denouement
Archive



Previous / Next

End Times
[2012-09-17 01:00]

Day 2 of Comikaze (Day 4 of my California adventure): Although we arrived at the convention a little earlier than yesterday and didn't have to stand in line to be admitted, it seems like we did less than yesterday. Go figure.

Things we did today includes:

  • my cousins ran the zombie-obstacle course while I watched. It was amusing, but took a lot of time (most of which was spent waiting around).

  • Horror Kung-Fu Theatre: hosted by amateur wrestler Nightshadow, this panel was very odd -- the panel didn't seem to know what they wanted to do, so they just gabbed a bit, showed a clip from Manos: The Hands of Fate, and gave away some raffle prizes (in which I won a T-shirt). The panel included Nick Orefice and was amusing (I attended this panel out of curiosity, not because I knew anything about it).

  • watched a screening of the movie short "The Other" and "Found". Found is a horror movie and is seriously fucked up (i.e., disgusting, sick and wrong) in some places. Well acted, though, it was made for $8,000 but has pretty good production value. The star of "Found" is a kid who was 12-years old when it was filmed, and did a really good job. The movie was introduced by Cassandra Peterson (better known as Elvira, Mistress of the Dark). She wasn't in costume, but looked quite good.

  • Watched a screening of Done the Impossible, a documentary about Joss Whedon's TV show "Firefly" and the subsequent movie "Serenity".

What I didn't have time to do was get Elvira's autograph (from what I overheard, she was getting run ragged between her numerous panels and appearances. I would also have liked to get Linda Blair's autograph (I'm not usually an autograph hound, but I would have liked to have gotten those two), and would have liked to have a few hours more to just browse the exhibit booths, leisurely. My cousins and I are thinking of attending again next year to see how it grows/evolves.

Lunch was at Lawry's Carvery again, which I discovered is affiliated with Lawry's Seasonings (which I didn't grok yesterday). Today I had the prime-rib sandwich (a version of the french dip) and it was very good. Dinner was at Arashi Sushi (within walking distance from the convention) which was also very good.

!D

Boom
Defective Yeti
Dooce
I, Cringely
It's Not Happening
Locally Grown Girl
Margaret and Helen
Mimi Smartypants
putative.com
That Black Girl

Diaryland
Slashdot