Type D

D!

Denouement
Archive



Previous / Next

Ad Infinitum
[2008-08-27 09:15]

I like to think I'm immune to advertising in the sense that rarely (if ever) does an advertisement make me want to do something that I didn't already want to do, or to buy something that I didn't already want. Despite the amusement of things happening in Vegas staying in Vegas, I've never been to Vegas and have no more desire to go than I did before those commercials, for example. Although I occasionally eat at fast food joints like McDonalds, Burger King and Wendy's, it ain't because of the commercials. And as priceless as those MasterCard commercials are, I don't have one anymore (I never used the one I had).

If anything, advertisements make me want to avoid a product if I find the ad to be particularly stupid or irritating, such as those caveman commercials or those roaming gnome commercials (which is a blatant rip off from the movie Amelie, by the way).

I also don't usually care what celebrity a company has shilling for them. Most of the time, it makes me have less respect for the celeb rather than make me want whatever they're hawking.

But every once in a blue moon a company gets me, bagged and tagged. Such is the case with Harvey Nichols and their latest advertising ploy. As it turns out, Harvey Nichols (which I'd never heard of before now) has nothing I want, but Wallace and Gromit made me look.

!D

Boom
Defective Yeti
Dooce
I, Cringely
It's Not Happening
Locally Grown Girl
Margaret and Helen
Mimi Smartypants
putative.com
That Black Girl

Diaryland
Slashdot