Type D

D!

Denouement
Archive



Previous / Next

The Good War
[2008-03-28 18:00]

This morning I watched Frontline: Bush's War on PBS.org and have to give PBS the variety pack of kudos.

First, the documentary is quite well done. While the material isn't terribly new (and the program has a very unsatisfying ending), I was interested to hear the interviews from the various folk who were involved (like Richard Armitage and the UK ambassador to the US). I also did not know the extent of the in-fighting that existed between the Central Intelligence Agency and the Department of Defense, and then between the Department of State and the Department of Defense.

Anyway, the documentary paints a picture of an intensely and persistently incompetent handling of Iraq, from it's inception up through (at least) the recent surge. Even if the surge is a good strategy, the problem is that it could be five years too late, and it doesn't address problems with Iran, Pakistan and Afghanistan. It's times like these that I pray that there is a God and that Bush, Cheney, Rumsfeld and their cronies suffer eternal damnation for their actions. Unfortunately, I don't think that will happen (even if there is a God), so it's up to us humans to publicly denounce and reject their actions so that they (hopefully) never happen again.

Second, I give mad props to PBS for the online experience. With just a few blips when the energy-saving feature of my monitor would kick in, I found it easy and satisfying to watch the program over the Internet. Although I have a cable-modem and a screamin' new computer, I often find I have trouble watching videos over teh Interwebs. Unfortunately, I frequently suffer long lags and occasional lapses in Internet connectivity (I blame Broadstripe). I also have my browser set to disallow cookies and disable Java and JavaScript (the latter of which I enable only when necessary). As many sites require cookies or registration to access their content, and as I usually boycott these sites out of principle, there's a lot of stuff out there that I usually can't/don't reach. And then there are sites whose video content just doesn't work well for me, such as MSNBC.com. Of course, I'm sure their site is "optimized for Internet Explorer" and I use Firefox on a Mac Pro. In any event, I experienced none of these problems watching the show on PBS's website.

So, Good Job PBS!

!D

Boom
Defective Yeti
Dooce
I, Cringely
It's Not Happening
Locally Grown Girl
Margaret and Helen
Mimi Smartypants
putative.com
That Black Girl

Diaryland
Slashdot