Type D

D!

Denouement
Archive



Previous / Next

D'Arcana
[2007-01-25 15:50]

This blog is more than a year old and Googling for "Type D" still doesn't list it as a result. I'm proud of that fact and a little relieved. If I had been listed, I'd be wondering why. It'd be like if you woke up one day and there was an elephant sitting in the middle of your street. Sure there are elephants, but why there? Why now?

Anyway, the amusing thing about Googling for this blog is seeing what else is returned from the search. In this case, two things caught my eye.

One is this resort location. Now, naming a resort "Will O' The Wisp" seems a little odd to me. From Wikipedia:

[T]he Will o' the wisps are held to be mischievous spirits of the dead or other supernatural beings attempting to lead travellers astray.

Didn't they make a movie about this?

The second gem was this link for Shamanic Talismans Shaman Wands Shaman Amulets Shaman Charms. Specifically, this is an online store page for Cobra Pearls.

Scaly texture, Slight Crystal formation and more opaque, Magically Powerful
Yup, they got me pegged there.

I particularly like their FAQ:

Q. How do we know that the pearls are genuine?

A. [O]ur pearls go through an intense psychic scanning process to verify that they are genuine. You can test them for yourself by holding one between your thumb and forefinger and calling the name of the elemental. You will soon feel intense energies flowing through your fingers as the spirit begins to respond to you.

Oh man, I'm using this the next time someone asks if a computer program I wrote will work.

"My programs go through an intense psychic scanning process to verify that they are bug-free. You can test this yourself by pressing your face to your monitor and calling the name of the developer. You will soon feel intense energies flowing through your forehead as the spirit begins to respond to you..."

!D

Boom
Defective Yeti
Dooce
I, Cringely
It's Not Happening
Locally Grown Girl
Margaret and Helen
Mimi Smartypants
putative.com
That Black Girl

Diaryland
Slashdot