Type D

D!

Denouement
Archive



Previous / Next

Aubrey
[2015-10-08 07:00]

Last night, I dreamt about a movie called "Aubrey" that I've dreamt of before.

In last night's dream, I was with some people and a movie was showing on television in the background. The opening credits were rolling and one name kept reappearing -- something like "Boba Fakelli" -- who was credited for a lot of the technical aspects of the movie such as the lighting, cinematography, etc.

I noticed this and mentioned to one of the people I was with that I thought this Boba fellow was in another movie I'd seen but couldn't remember. Then the title of the movie appeared and I realized that this was that movie.

I told my companions that this was a strange and wicked flick, something of a cult classic. The first half of the movie, I explained, starts as a poignant tale of a homeless girl (Aubrey, who is about 12-years old), who befriends a working-class man played by Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson. Having been homeless for awhile, Aubrey is no angel and is involved (indirectly) in a lot of criminal dealings such as theft, prostitution, drugs, etc.

The Rock's character, after meeting Aubrey, tries to take Aubrey away from that world and give her some stability and safety. However, about halfway through the movie, The Rock's character is killed as Aubrey's past catches up with them. The second part of the movie (the part that makes it a cult classic) is all about the killing spree that Aubrey goes on to avenge The Rock.

Christian Slater was also in the movie and there may have been a cameo by Clint Eastwood in the beginning.

I woke up shortly after the movie started so I didn't actually see it in the dream -- I just remembered it from "before" which I think turns out to be a previous dream.

Anyway, there is no movie called Aubrey as far as I can tell, nor anyone named Boba Fakelli. The name "Aubrey" may have come from an X-Files episode, which I watched a few weeks ago. The plot of the movie, however, sounds vaguely familiar but I can't think of any real movie that matches.

!D

Boom
Defective Yeti
Dooce
I, Cringely
It's Not Happening
Locally Grown Girl
Margaret and Helen
Mimi Smartypants
putative.com
That Black Girl

Diaryland
Slashdot