Type D

D!

Denouement
Archive



Previous / Next

Worlds End
[2015-09-16 0:00]

Well, that's it. I've finally done it. I've cancelled my World of Warcraft account.

Actually, I stopped really playing awhile ago and have just been logging in and puttering around for awhile. But it's all just become too... boring. I didn't even finish the latest expansion, which I purchased earlier this year (around the time of my last post, it seems).

This ends a run that started in 2007. So Blizzard did pretty well, getting eight years of subscription fees out of me, I guess.

Coincidentally, the Lord of the Rings Online (LoTRO) game is shutting down several of its worlds (servers) in an effort to consolidate. I still have an account with them because when I purchased the game years ago, they had a "lifetime account" option. It cost about the same as two-years of World of Warcraft but means I can play it for free for as long as it lasts. Granted, I haven't played that game much for awhile either, but I come back to it every few months.

Anyway, with LoTRO and the few games I have that I've never finished (like Dragon Age... the first one), I figure I still have enough time suckage to keep me busy until the next end of the world.

!D

Boom
Defective Yeti
Dooce
I, Cringely
It's Not Happening
Locally Grown Girl
Margaret and Helen
Mimi Smartypants
putative.com
That Black Girl

Diaryland
Slashdot